The 2016 Oracle reading is based on the zodiac months – I have chosen one tarot card for every astrological month (e.g. Capricorn December 22 to January 19. For those who do not know, the astrological year begins in Aries March 21 to April 20. Since most of the world experiences the new year on January 1st, I have begun with the sign that falls on that date). Each card applies as general guidance for all but more specifically for those born in that zodiacal month. I have also included my overview of the year as I do with every yearly reading.


Capricorn December 22 – January 19:

Ace of Wands: New life, beginnings, experiences; inspiration; innovation; optimism; creativity; sexual passion.

Aquarius January 20 – February 18:

The Hanged Man (Major Arcana 12): New perspective; limbo; standstill; sacrifice; commitment; adaptability; letting God take over; to thine own self be true.

Pisces February 19 – March 20:

Knight of Swords: Sudden and unexpected changes; new people and situations; mental stimulation; confidence; leadership. This Court card can represent the following individuals entering, or becoming a part of, your life: lawyer, economist, engineer; strong and assertive person; leader; impatient person; a self-absorbed and insensitive younger person; a dependable and helpful younger person; a highly intellectual person.

Aries March 21 – April 20:

Ten of Cups: Joy; harmonious interpersonal relationships; trust; happiness; good family life; love; marriage; genuine friendship; celebration.

Taurus April 21 – May 20:

Knight of Cups: New relationships, more so in the romance department; art; music; new opportunities; intuition; kindness; empathy; follow your dreams. This Court card could also represent the following types of people: an idealist; an artist; a romantic younger man; a therapist; a highly intuitive person; an ideal man or woman; someone easily influenced by others.

Gemini May 21 – June 20:

The Devil (Major Arcana 15): Self-imposed restrictions; pessimism; difficulty letting go of unhealthy habits and abusive people; uncalled for guilt; fears; doubts; greed; lust; co-dependency.

Cancer June 21 – July 21:

Knight of Wands: New people, ideas and experiences; intense creativity; escaping difficulties; adventure; quick decisions; ambition; charisma; fun; relocation. This Court card can also represent the following individuals: impetuous younger man; a fun-loving person; traveler; competitor; someone who does not want to settle down.

Leo July 22 – August 22:

The Moon (Major Arcana 18): Deep instinctual nature; emotions; dreams; secrets revealed; self-deception; creative writing; past affecting the present; the mother or female archetype; confusion; uncertainty; indecision; unforeseen or unpredictable dangers; depression; emotional fluctuation.

Virgo August 21 – September 22:

Five of Swords: False pride; loss; negative thinking; gossip; plotting; an argument; manipulation; thoughtlessness.

Libra September 23 – October 22:

The Empress (Major Arcana 3): Fertility; abundance; the mother; healing; love; marriage; a good harvest; birth; helping others.

Scorpio October 23 – November 22:

Ten of Wands: The burden of success or ambition; work-related stress; too much responsibility; worry; health related problems due to overwork; increase in status due to hard work.

Sagittarius November 23 – December 21:

The Chariot (Major Arcana 7): Determination; balancing opposing forces in order to move forward; self-assertion; success; self-discipline; being able to carry the load; strength; balancing conflicting emotions; overcoming obstacles.


Right off the bat, I can see that the beginning of both the calendar new year (Capricorn) and the astrological new year (Aries) are extremely positive. This to me, sets the tone for the whole year. Even though there will be difficulties to overcome, the overall purpose of them will be to clear away the debris of the old in order for the new foundations of your life to be laid – properly, solidly grounded on this earthly plane of existence.

This may mean moving home, changing careers or entering new relationships of all kinds. The fact that three of the four Knight Court Cards appear in this spread means that many people will be required to help bring about these changes. Knights usually represent young men up until about the age of forty, but they can also represent women and older men with the same characteristics of those particular cards (or, the element of the card: water (emotion, intuition), fire (spirit, energy), air (intellect, words)).

The most difficult aspects are represented by the following cards: The Devil; The Moon; Five of Swords; Ten of Wands. The first two are Major Arcana cards which makes them significant in terms of the lessons involved, or, the level of change required.

The Devil is about self-imposed restriction for the most part. It is not necessarily an emotional or internal limitation as you may be in a situation that is abusive or stifling in some other way that is difficult to get out of. If you need help, ask for it. The Moon card indicates deep emotional issues needing to come to the surface in order to be healed. They often involve subconscious fears the cause of which may not be so easy to determine. Again, if you need help, seek it out. The Five of Swords is about negative thinking and/or talk – it could be you or those around you. You may need to abandon those who do not support you at this time. The Ten of Wands can indicate being overburdened with work or any other type of responsibility that you may carry. It may be time to let go of what is weighing you down.

The guidance for the end of the astrological year is a powerful Major Arcana card: The Chariot. This indicates forward movement with the capacity to balance any challenges that may come along, which, let’s face it, are an inevitable part of life. I would say there is a lot to look forward to as you step into the new year.

Happy 2017!